Needlepoint Art

Image

I was walking through Yerba Buena Lane in downtown San Francisco the other day, when I came across a gallery for Liuli Fine Glass—and what appears to be the largest needlepoint project I’ve ever seen. If you look closely, you can see what looks like ordinary window screen as the base for this display made of yarn, thread and beads. I love how the large-scale pattern gives a boldness to an otherwise traditional craft. Now, I don’t know much about this gallery, but I do know this is a seriously cool idea for a window display. And the designer in me can’t help but think of other uses for this type of thing: a unique wall hanging, or piece of art, for your home; a room divider; tactile wallpaper? If I had the patience and tenacity, I’d break out the needle and thread myself.

Image

Leave a Reply

