Backyard Water Wonders

niagara-falls

One of the things I love most about living in San Francisco is being by the water. That being said, I’m somewhat terrified of actually being in it. The ocean is very intimidating in Northern California. So when I go back to Western New York to visit my family (like this week) I tend to engage in some type of water activity because it’s a little more tame.

Or is it? One of my favorite things has been going on the Cave of the Winds and Maid of the Mist tours at Niagara Falls. While I’ve been to the Falls many times (it’s only about 20 miles from where I grew up), it was only a few years ago I did anything other than look at them from above.

niagara-fallsniagara-falls

It’s much more fun to be almost in them. I took these pics of my brother’s family with a little waterproof camera I bought at the gift shop last minute. While the camera survived, the plastic raincoats did not! If you ever get the chance to get this close to one of the seven natural wonders, it’s a pretty amazing thing to do. You really feel the power of the water, and it’s surprisingly more fun than scary. Just know you’re gonna get reaaal wet—in a good way.

maid-of-the-mistmaid-of-the-mistmaid-of-the-mist

Leave a Reply

