Screen-Printing 101 at Workshop SF

workshop-sf

I’ve been wanting to take a screen-printing class for the longest time, and I finally got around to it last Friday night. A friend and I took an intro class at Workshop SF, and I honestly can’t believe I haven’t been here sooner. In a space about the size of a two-car garage, and one that might resemble your dad’s old workspace, they hold an eclectic mix of classes ranging from Sewing Basics to Making Your Own Mustard.

workshop-sf-1

The class we took was billed as a “date-nite”, and it was pretty fun and relaxed: BYOB with the music cranked up. Since it was an intro class we opted to use the existing screens, instead of burn our own,  until we got the hang of it. (We all did an initial test print of Biggie and Tupac.)

workshop-sf

The class was meant to teach the basics of one-color screen printing, but it left me wanting more! Hopefully they’ll add another class that builds on what we learned in the intro class. And if not, it gave me enough knowledge to go ahead and try it on my own.

workshop-sf

The vibe of the place is a little “badass”, complete with a Metallica pinball machine. In fact, rumor has it Kirk from Metallica stopped in earlier in the day to play it. All in all I think my favorite thing about Workshop SF is the variety of classes. I’m taking Pickling next month, and after spotting the Terrariums, above, I’m ready to sign up for that one too! Should keep me outta trouble for a while, and give me enough skills to make a few holiday gifts this year.

One thought on “Screen-Printing 101 at Workshop SF

Leave a Reply

