Road Trip To Apple Hill

apple-hill

Living in San Francisco, you don’t really notice the change in seasons so much. But when I look at the calendar, and it says September, I start thinkin’ apples. Apple cider, apple turnovers, apple pie, and apple-fests in general. When I lived in Cleveland I used to go to a great place called Pattersons Fruit Farm every fall, and I’ve been looking for something similar here. Enter Apple Hill.

AppleHill-1

About a two hour drive east of San Francisco, it’s an area filled with dozens of apple orchards, fruit and tree farms, wineries and a brewery. And on an unseasonably cold and rainy Saturday (which got us into that autumn mood), we headed up to get our fill.

We hit Rainbow Orchards, Boa Vista Orchards, Abel’s Apple Acres and the Jack Russell Brewery. There were tons of orchards within close range of each other, all selling apple-related products. And I have to say, while I’m not a big donut person, the cider donut at Rainbow was one of the best I’ve ever had. (Ditto on the cider itself).

AppleHill-2

I had been curious about this place for a while now, and it was a fun little getaway. Different than what I had expected, and a much anticipated rite-of-passage into fall.

6 thoughts on “Road Trip To Apple Hill

  1. Pingback: An Apple A Day | jotsnap

Leave a Reply

